I am against Xenophobia. In fact I hate it. We all know hate is a strong word, that’s how strongly I feel about it. Besides the plain fact that its brutal and inhumane. I have non-SA friends, from Zimbabwe, Zambia, Lesotho, Nigeria and Botswana respectively, all of whom I love and cherish dearly, not because they from other African countries, but truly because God blessed them with beautiful hearts.

My beloved Catholic priests are non-SAn, I can’t even begin to tell you how I’ve grown spiritually since they came into our parishes, no shade to South African priests, but I started going to church not only out of habit but because I learned and leaned closer to God through their beautiful, thought provoking homilies. All of them different but each with a special gift and an amazing ability to teach the Word and influence my life positively. I actually get excited talking/writing about this part of my life, read here.

It is said we all come from different homes and we have different values and beliefs, truth, but as a South African and even a bigger African family, which of our values are for Afro-phobia? Where is Ubuntu?

A few weeks ago we were up in arms fighting cement, remember #RhodesMustFall? Did Rhodes fall so Afro-phobia could rise? We said Rhodes was  colonial idiot yadayada…but now we can’t embrace of fellow African brothers who aren’t here to take our land nor to build statues of themselves? See, we seem to be a nation of double standards and we kinda make the rules as we go along and break them when it suits us.

I believe South Africans suffer from what is called Afro-phobia in the social media,  I get so bothered when a fellow South African says  “in Africa…” as if we are not part of that Africa! It’s bad enough we hate each other, it’s worse that we are displaying it for the world to know. It’s worse, many foreign nationals have settled well in SA, many except those from other parts of Africa. Let’s love and embrace each other, we can do more and better together.

#MyTwoCentsWorth

Sports and Recreation minister Mr Mbalula tweets

No Xenophobia for me thank you!

Madika- Black Female Superheroine

2 thoughts on “Cry my beloved continent!

  1. A lot of us are very ignorant when it comes to such. I was at the clinic yesterday and all of the few doctors that were there assisting hundreds of us were not South African, my doctor had a Nigerian accent actually and he did a great job(seeing that i’m back at work today). I have seen and listened to the people that encourage xenophobic attacks and have noticed that none of them have a good education, no jobs and are actually not even keen on improving their education even when given a free chance. Sadly they are making the rest of us South Africans look silly/ dumb. They claim that foreign nationals bring crime and drugs to South Africa, how about we don’t buy the stolen goods as South Africans, or the drugs themselves. People are lazy and will blame it on anything/anyone except themselves. I for one have never been mugged by a foreign national, it was a Zulu guy that held us at gunpoint. Another time after a night of clubbing, the dude we were travelling with was a “snymaan” and he spoke proper tswana and even offered us some of his stuff for free – called it a sample.

    Truth is we need people from other countries here, they have skills and are willing to work hard for their earn, unlike the rest of us who are waiting for manna to fall from above, nx!

Leave a Reply

